USING A COMPUTER EVERYDAY CAN HAVE MORE NEGATIVE THAN POSITIVE EFFECT ON YOUR CHILDREN.

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Nowadays many children in the developed countries spend more time on computer and virtual world. There are some positive, however, recently, there is growing concern about negative impact of overusing computers and so some people think children should participate more in sports and physical activities of real world than on computer.

First of all let’s talk about the negative impacts. To begin with, watching a lot on computer screen, either surfing or playing game, can directly affect the eyesight of children. Consistently watching bright light weakens the eye vision and could lead some serious problem. Secondly, sitting on same posture results physical pain and reduce flexibility. More importantly, less movement and physical activities lead to obesity, which is not only the root cause of many diseases but also have many negative impact on physical and mental growth. Sport activities, reading books, discussion, debate etc. all are very important to physical and mental development of growing kids. Finally, too much time on computer is related to poor communication and less interaction in real world. Children who enjoy more on digital game and virtual world involve less on social interaction and communication with other people.

On the other side of discussion, online world provides some valuable information to our children in relation to the area of their interest. They can grasp the information of latest development of technology, innovation and social trend. As they have to survive and work in more competitive future world, they need to be well informed and prepared from the early age. So it is not bad idea if computers are used to gain and increase knowledge on particular field.

In conclusion, kids spending too much time on computer has, of course, some negative impacts but these negative impact could be reduced by using computer for limited time for productive purpose and spending some time on outdoor activities as well.