Violence among young people has increased dramatically over the past 50 years. This rise moves in tandem with the growth in violent media. Thus, the conclusion can be drawn that violent media is the main cause of violence among young people.

Do you agree or disagree?

The rate of violence among youths has surged over the last half-century. This increase is found to be directly proportional to the popularity of aggression in the media and this made some intellectuals to infer that the latter was chiefly responsible for the former. I cannot agree less with this observation and the reasons below will make it clearer as we proceed.

Firstly, parental upbringing plays a crucial role in determining what an adult a child will become. For example, a child raised in an environment of calumny and rancour is likely to become a violent youth because children learn by imitation. On the contrary, when a child develops in a habitat of warmth, hospitality and love, they often exhibit the fruits of peace as they grow. For example, Kolu Zero, the notorious armed robber, after his apprehension, confessed to having grown up in an environment of hatred and all forms of evil. It is, therefore, less credible to attribute the proliferation of violence solely to the media but rather, the fostering atmosphere.

Furthermore, in some cases, brutality and aggression may be traced to the kind of friends people keep. In other words, many good manners have been corrupted because of wrong companions. Negative peer influence and pressure and the trend to be in vogue have rendered many youths violent, albeit, unintentionally. For instance, research had it that drug addiction was due to exposure to illicit substances by peers in more than half of cases. Hence, one cannot over-emphasize the influence of negative friends on the explosion of violence among the young population rather than attribute it only to the media.

In conclusion, though some people correlated the rise in juvenile violence over the past five decades to the way it has become trendy on the social media, this seems not to hold water because improper formative years and negative peer influence appear to be at the root of the rise.