In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people

why might this be ?

do you think it's a positive or negative situation?

Rarely do residents of some countries like to rent houses to reside in anymore; they prefer to purchase and own them, instead. Could it be the case that appreciation and alteration are the reasons for their interest ? Whether this is true or false, one detriment is most apparent: the burden of mortgage loans on homeowners.

It is undeniable that as the population of residents in some countries increases - whether through immigration or birth - the demand for houses also increases, which often determines the price rate of the houses over the years. If residential real estate projects are unable to meet up with these ever-increasing requests, then houses will become scarce commodities, and because of that, their values will appreciate, which will benefit landlords, monetarily.

Let us not forget either that different people alter houses to suit different purposes. Children and adults, educationalists and entertainers, abled and disabled, for example, certainly have unique housing designs and features that are believed to help them ease their activities. Purchasing and owning their houses seems to be the only way by which these individuals can be allowed to extend or shrink, decorate or deface houses to achieve their desired housing structures, as their landlords are unlikely to grant such permission.

Of course, to purchase a house unlike to rent it is usually costly in some countries, and it is not uncommon among many homeowners to take out mortgage loans so as to afford it.

Unfortunately, such debts are sometimes paid back in huge amounts: interest, valuation, remortgaging and conveyancing fees among others. Worse, the house is likely to be repossessed by the lenders, regardless of the previous deposits, if the house owners default with these payments, which will be a huge loss of money to homeowners.

It then appears to me that owning a home is not only likely to drain the pocket of people, it may also lead to loss of potential properties. People should be considering these possible disadvantages rather than eyeing the perceived benefits of house appreciation and alteration.