We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Problems exist all over the globe. It is believed by some that since helping every needy person in the world is practically impossible, one should concentrate on assisting the needs of locals. I do not completely agree with the statement because I think sending help to those who need urgent assistance, even though they are foreign, is important to save humanity.

To begin with, it is crucial for developed countries to help developing countries who are facing economic crisis and instability in their nations. Since such third-war nations cannot support themselves financially, if powerful nations do not lend a helping hand, they will not be able to survive on their own. Secondly, poor countries depend on powerful nations to supply healthcare products, such as medicines and medical equipments. Were powerful nations to stop their subsidies, the conditions of the citizenry of impoverished nations will deteriorate further. Lastly, nations helping each other through international charity is a symbol of unity and integrity. Humans should collectively take initiatives to ameliorate each others dire situations, irrespective of the geography is the most humane thing to do.

Having said this, those who contend that we cannot send help to everyone and we must focus on native countries, mainly say so because they feel the health of local people will determine the progress of nation. Only by helping the local residents first can the country achieve economic prosperity and social progression. However, they fail to see the bigger picture that all nations in the world are inter-connected. If one nation is suffering, it may take down others with them. For instance, if medicines against common diseases are not donated to poverty-sickened nations, diseases may spread nationwide and may even run rampant worldwide, putting the lives of all inhabitats on the planet in danger.

In conclusion, although some people oppose the idea of catering to the needs of other nations, it is wise to help those who cannot help themselves. In my opinion, strong nations should help impoverished nations as much as possible.