The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Some people think it is the government’s duty to ensure that new buildings are built in a traditional style. To what extent do you agree?

It is the responsibility of a government to protect a country’s cultural uniqueness. It is believed by many that all new bulidings are constructed in accordance to the native architectural style. I do not concur with this viewpoint because forcing someone to follow standardized old designs is neither justifiable in a democracy nor practical to suit the facilities necessay in mondern buildings.

To begin with, in a democracy, people should be free to choose the designs of their buildings since it is their democratic right. Compelling the citizenry to build buildings as per the government’s fixed standards will take away their right to freedom. For instance, if all the houses in a city were mandated to be painted white based on the regulation, people will have to give up their dreams to live in their favoutire colored homes. Furthermore, modern amenities, such as air-conditioning and multi-strory parking, may not be possible to be installed in a traditional design. Modern buildings, namely shoppings malls and office complexes, cannot function without proper heating and cooling or ample parking space. Since traditional architectural designs are not flexible, they cannot accommodate spaces for utalitarian services.

Lastly, due to land scarcity in major cities, high-rise buildings are the solution to the rising problem of residence. It is well-known fact that low-rise buildings and vertical construction are integral parts of ancient architecture, which is not feasible for towns. Moreover, conserving cultural expression of a place is possible by other means, ranging from celebrating festivals to creating public artwork. However, efforts should be made to restore and protect old buildings as they are a symbol of nation’s cultural identification. In my opinion, traditional style should be encouraged and not forced upon.

To conclude, although some people may support building new buildings in a traditional style to keep tradition alive, it will cause discomfort to people, pragmatic problems and infeasible for towns. In my opinion, owners should have the freedom to built infrastructure as per their preference. The government can encourgage builders to incorporate traditional design as much as possible.