Weddings are more expensive in many countries comparison present and past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays wedding ceremonies are becoming increasingly costly. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward several reasons to highlight the comparison trend of spending between the current and past era. In my opinion, this is a negative trend which can lead to the people in debt.

To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons which make the wedding function more expensive compared to previous times. The prime reason is that people now prefer to make the wedding arrangement in a hotel to celebrate the event, where they must pay a hefty amount to arrange a vast array of cuisines, and reception area for guests to give them a warm welcome. This is due to the fact that now people take the loan with high interest which makes their life miserable to payback within the agreed time frame. Whereas, people in the past time would like to make the arrangement within the nearby house rather than in a hotel; therefore, the wedding functions were comparatively fewer expenses than today.

A further reason which makes today's wedding more expensive is the higher prices. Currently, the inflation rate has increased at an alarming rate, and people have no. option except to buy expensive products for their weddings. Several studies attest to the fact that due to high inflation, the prices of necessary items for a wedding including clothes and jewelry have been increased by over 50%. That’s why weddings are getting more costly these days compared to the past era.

A final reason is that people today are more socialized and have a wide range of social networking. Due to this, they give preference to invite all of them along with kit and kin, as a result, it increases the budget caters to the need of their vast no. of guests. On the other hand, people in earlier times were limited to invite family members to arrange the wedding function within their budget.

In conclusion, I am of the view that expensive weddings should be discouraged as it has brought people in heavy debt to pay back, for this to be considered a negative trend.