Weddings are more expensive in many countries nowadays when compared to the past.

What is the reason behind this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent time, wedding ceremonies have become costlier as compared to the past.This essay will explain why is it a negative development.

The weddings have become a mode of show off.It has lost its real charm that includes proper rituals to be followed during ceremony.People are ready to spend more amount of money on an expensive wedding.In some places,it has become a status symbol for the people who can manage and afford.

There are many reasons behind this.One of the main reason is the belief of people that such occasion doesn't happen frequently.So they feel of spending most at once.Also,today's generation people have become more conscious about their appearance.They want everything designer and perfect.This includes heavy clothes,matching accessories,jewellery,make up,decoration,lighting,fancy food and so on.So,weddings have become a status symbol for people as a huge chunk of money is spent on music and other arrangements as mentioned.They want to make wedding most remembering and attractive to their guests.Lot is spent on photography and some wealthy people give return gifts to guestes.Hence,all the above mentioned factors increase an overall cost.

I believe it to be a negative development as it increases some unnecessary costs.Many time it happens that food also get wasted in a huge quantity.To make wedding extra ordinary,few people take loans from the bank which often creates trouble for a newly married couple.For example,people who borrow money face tremendous pressure for years in terms of repaying loan along -with other responsibilities.This in long run add stress and anxiety till the time loan is not repayed.

At the end,I would like to say that wedding is a bond between two people and their respective families.So it should be celebrated wisely after discussing pros and cons of expenses, and not to impress people.