What are the pros and cons of using public transport?

These days, it is not uncommon to sight a number of people taking public transport to commute from place to another. Buses and trains are highly popular among daily commuters because of the reasonable fairs. However, is it beneficial for people to use public transport or it is disadvantageous? I will discuss the merits and demerits of using public transport and try to draw some conclusions.

With regards to the positives of using public transport, one of main advantages of this is, it helps people to save their money as the discounts given on services like travel cards or monthly passes make it even more affordable for people to travel as much as they need. Another advantage is that it is an environment-friendly way and helps to reduce pollution caused by private motor vehicles. Moreover, there are some buses or trains in some countries that provide service quite frequently and fast. Also, it is proven that it is an efficient method to reduce the traffic and accidents caused due to excess number of vehicles on road.

Turning on to the demerits of using public transport, it can be inconvenient for people to shift from one bus to another as sometimes people need to take more than one bus or train to reach their destination. So, this can cause them frustration when they wait longer for their next bus or train. Another issue is, not all the people feel comfortable and safe travelling in a public transport as this can be untidy and encourage the spread of contagious diseases or viruses like Coronavirus. Last but not least, private vehicles can help people to reach their destinations faster and there is no headache of changing the vehicle between start and end of their journey.

All things considered, public transport is an effective way to travel from one place to another. While, public transport is affordable and environment-friendly, but, safety, comfort, time, convenience are the factors that attract people to use private vehicles.