What are some important qualities of a good supervisor (boss)? Use specific details and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

The prosperity of every organisation is whole and sole dependent on quality of its work force. Thus, it has been a topic of contention as to what should be the foremost attributes of a good mentor. At all levels of management, it is always desirable to have highly skilled and well motivated mentor. For an enterprise with higher objectives, it is imperative one’s supervisor should possess these basic skills.

First and foremost, the quality of any supervisor which is most sought after is one’s ability to lead by setting an example. As a boss, one must be able to take up challenges and demonstrate strong determination towards project completion. He/she must be prompt at target oriented decision making according to situational demand. The ability to not only guide but also motivate the team members for every insurmountable challenge is something which is notably looked for. Lack of which can prove to hamper the growth and performance of any organisation. Dejection among employees is more likely to fuel frustration levels, which is highly undesired at job culture. Needless to say, all these merits stand one in good stead, as far as augmenting their chances of prosperity and excellence is concerned.

Then comes one’s ability to maintain proper co-ordination between higher authority and the lowest level workers. He/she must act as middle chain between these two diametrically extreme management levels. This involves successfully circulating higher authority's policies, plan, demand and guidelines down towards workers, for the one, in lucid ways. And simultaneously creating a transparent and encouraging channel of reciprocating the feedback, requirement, and any issues encountered. So, lack of this quality in the supervisor can lead to miscommunication between employee and employer, which could eventually result in a chaotic situation.

To conclude, the quality of making right decisions at right time will act as a fuel for the project and placing trust in the teammates will make them autonomous and grow.