what can be done to reduce global litter?

Human beings are one of the leading cause in a variety of environmental problems, especially litter. There is no doubt that the amount of litter is an excessive increase, as a result, we have to be responsible for this issue by reducing garbage. This essay will discuss measures that governments, individuals and communities can take to address the problem.

Individuals should set an example for other people in their ways of life. The best method would be for them to recycle when possible. According to the US Environmental Protection Organization, 90% of the items going in a landfill could be recycled. For example, instead of throwing away plastic bottles, we can reuse them to make household items such as planters, lamps or trash cans. This can help alleviate a huge volume of waste in the world and is gradually shrinking to landfill sites.

Another solution to eradicate the problem could be to raise the awareness of communities to the detrimental impacts of litter. By organizing cleanup events every week or every month and encouraging people’s participation, we will restrict its influences to natural environment. Taking Singapore, for example, it is considered as the cleanest city in the world because most citizens are aware of negative consequences due to dropping rubbish in public areas.

Governments could certainly make more effort to tackle worldwide waste. They should educate citizens about individual responsibility for proper waste disposal. For instance, environmental activities and seminars are held to call upon and enhance limited knowledge of the public with the support of authorities. In addition to this, the establishment of such organizations as Greenpeace, The United Nations Environment Program and global environmental Facilities states the significance of global environment to every single person and groups.

In conclusion, anyone also should have contribution by taking steps to lessen garbage. It is hopefully that humans can enjoy a much greener and fresher planet with considerably less litter.