When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The technological revolution took place somewhere around 18th-19th centuries. Ever since the world has not looked back. It has played a vital role as well in human history. The impact was massive in terms of growth and productivity. Some argue that such effects are so extraordinary that it wiped out the conventional skills and lifestyles. However, I believe they would still continue to thrive by providing various alternatives to modern ways of life.

The fact that traditional skills and local livelihood are on a fade in most countries due to this technological development, is a moot issue. Although it is well known that in developed countries, old-fashioned skills are on the verge of extinction. The introduction of new and improved gizmos has replaced outdated tools and methods. To cite an example, one would seldom find manual labour and conventional methods involved in mixing concrete these days at construction sites. Unlike small-scale industries such as cotton mills and hand-weaving units formed the major part of livelihood and family income, today the whole scenario is changed. They are thriving hard to retain their position in today's tech-savvy world. Personally, my opinion is technological advancements and conventional skills both have evolved over the years.

The technology has nurtured and promoted traditional skills. Moreover, the older generations for whom it would be cumbersome to cope up with the new emerging changes should be permitted to practice or preach within their comfort zone. Several NGOs and social activists are making efforts to preserve traditional occupations and skilled workers.

In conclusion, the tradition is what we live in today. Earlier customs will be conserved and passed on to the future generations. Although new skills should be adapted to evolve and archive the old ones as and when required.