When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The creation of a convenient environment for new towns has become a burning issue nowadays. While some people prefer shopping centers and malls close to their houses, others, as well as me, feel that public parks and sports clubs are more essential facilities for a comfortable environment. The reasons in support of this view will be discussed in this essay,

To begin with, public parks may provide many opportunities for outdoor activities. Nowadays, people tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle indoors, which is why the opportunity to spend free time on fresh air with family or friends seems to be an essential aspect for new towns. Secondly, public parks and many sports club in the local area attract respectable citizens unlike than malls, thus this trend may improve safety in the local area, whereas big shopping centers often are linked to crime. Finally, large park areas tend to influence ecological situation positively. No doubts, being a significant source of fresh air, trees clean environment and decrease dust level in cities.

Speaking about the opposite opinion, some people claim, that public parks, as well as sports clubs, are not beneficial for the local economy. Usually, parks require extensive funds for the support their condition and sports clubs are not able to bring as much income as shopping centers. However, parks and comfortable environments seem to increase the cost of houses in the local community and attract citizens with large incomes, who tend to pay more taxes.

All in all, despite the view that malls close to houses are more essential for comfortable living, I would claim public parks and sports cubs make the new towns more attractive for new citizens.