While studying some students take weekend or evening jobs to help with expenditure. How do you feel about this? What are the drawbacks and benefits of such a decision?

Pupils in many countries opt for part-time work to support their day to day expenses. In my opinion, it is always beneficial to be self-dependent and not to rely on guardians for monetary support. However, a moral support is always required from family.

There are several merits of working few hours a days. One can lead life on their own terms and decide career path without anyone’s permission. In addition, it also helps them to grow as a mature adult who is responsible and self-reliant. For instance, teenagers in western countries start working at a tender age to fund their education. This helps them to learn basic fundamentals of life as well as they can stand tall on their own feet in the society.

On the other hand, with pros comes cons. Since, such kind of students get involved in earning their living. There are times when they become isolated from the world and are completely engrossed in their lifestyle. Sometimes, this may lead to depression and anxiety as well. Due to lack of support and interaction with friends and family members. To certain extent, there are times they have an issue to cop up with studies due to work pressure. For example, youth in few countries separate from their respective family and commence own life at a young age of 13 to 14 years. This might not only hamper their development of family values also it can create a feeling of detachment from blood relatives.

In conclusion, a balance needs to be maintained between work and studies. Channelizing priorities and focusing on them is more important. This not only will help an individual to grow in his/her career but also they can excel in their studies with flying colours.