While studying some students take weekend or evening jobs to help with expenditure. What are the benefits and drawbacks of such decision?

To cope with the expenses incurred in education, some pupils tend to indulge in the part time jobs. This essay sheds light on advantages and disadvantages of this inclination.

On the positive side, learning the value of money as well as enhancement in experience are two major traits that after school working students can develop. Considering monetary value at first, before spending even a single penny, working learners think twice as this is their hard earned money. As for experience, while working, pupils develop inter-personal skills like team work, handling customers, communication skills are to name just a few which are fruitful in their future professional life. My best friend, Peter, is a good paradigm of this who is working in Dominos as an order receiver guy and his soft skills are far better than other classmates. Hence, with these pivotal skills part time workers not only can secure appropriate employment for future but also can easily climb their career ladder for better prospects.

On the negative side, working on evenings can have adverse impacts on academics and overall growth of the pupils. In order to cater the responsibilities of their work, students have to render a considerable amount of time to the work and they are left with no time to dispense for their academic excellence. Even, part time workers cannot devote their time for extra-curricular activities, such as sports, art and craft, which pose a threat on their holistic development. If I talk about Peter only, after returning from school, he runs to his work and come back to home then sleep, due to exertion. Peter, along with many other students with same condition are deprived from beneficial life skills.

In conclusion, despite the pros, hands-on experience and rational approach for money management, for part time working students, I believe cons, poor academic performance as well as inadequate comprehensive development, are too dire to ignore.