Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion, that the one who controls TV and newspapers, in turn, controls points of view of the whole society. As far as I can judge, this is true, but to some extent, which depends on the educational level of people.

First, I would like to say that there are many people who believe in all the news about, for example, politics and celebrities’ life from their TV-set. In the first place, I guess, it is true for older people. For example, there is a lot of pensioners who keen on political news in Russia and the Ukraine nowadays. However, I would like to believe, that the youth do not like politics, but they tend to create an attitude to any person, relying on someone else’s judgements. Unfortunately, in this case, young people are insensitive to statements, which conflict with their own point of view and they change it unwillingly. Thus, the mass media is able to create a profitable opinion about everyone and everything.

Secondly, the main reason to deny a point of view of the mass media is critical thinking. Critical thinking is the ability to question an income information and beliefs, which can be developed along with high education. But other than that, higher education gives people their own vision of life and makes them more thoughtful. However, there are still many people who have not graduated from university and will not do it in the future.

To sum it up, I would like to say that whoever has control over TV and newspapers, has control over minds of different people. Nevertheless, there are still those people who question any information they receive.