Write about the following topic.

With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people.

Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Health care industry is booming with success due to the increase in research and inventions in the field of medical science. Modern society needs to find out ways to deal with increasing number of elderly people and ways to manage them. This essay will describe various solutions that can be used to manage growing number of elderly people.

Some people after a certain age are unable to carry out physical activities but there are many modern services that can make it easy for them. For example, there are cab services available on the click of a phone which reduces dependency of elderly people to go anywhere in the city. Recently my grand parents wanted to visit one of the relatives and I was in office, I booked a cab that came at the door step and took them to the destination. Improvement in transport facilities have made them self reliant and has given young people more time to focus on important duties.

There is an considerable improvement in science, thus enabling elderly people to do things on their own. Electric wheel chair is a good example where the user can operate the wheel chair on his own without human intervention. My maternal grandmother uses a wheel chair as she cannot walk. Previously it was mandatory for someone in the house to be there to move here from one place to another. Now as we got an electric automatic wheel chair she no longer needs anyone's support and she can use a remote and go around in the house. Similarly there are many scientific inventions that make it easier of elderly people to live with minimum dependency.

I believe as research and development continuous to grow it would make elderly people more independent thus making it easy to manage. The above points like easily available services and innovative products will make it easy for us to manage the increasing number of elderly people.