You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

You should write at least 250 words.

In this era of modernization, one can easily access food from any part of the world. Although some people argue that local food is better in terms of economic viability and environmentally it is debatable.This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages, why its best to eat home land food.

Consuming the food sourced from the same place is not only healthy but also benefiting local communities. Vegetables, Fruits and other necessary ingredients required for the food making sourced from a nearby place are not only fresh, but free from chemicals where there is no need for preserving these items.These items are not only cheap, but also helps the local farmers, shopkeepers and many other workers relying on this.Research from Harvard mentioned an experiment done on a rural town in USA where people used ingredients made from the same place found that costs of the overall food making is down by 25% and is 30% healthier than outsourced food which has preservatives and other chemicals.

Shipped food in the longer run has detrimental effects on health and environment. As these foods are to be transported from one place to another which involves many days of transit ,companies are bound to add chemicals for longevity and bear the costs involved in the refrigeration, fuel and taxes to deliver.This makes the food costlier, often unhealthy and damaging the climate. For instance, a study carried out in people who regularly had taken foods from far away are 25% more risk to fatal diseases than the one who have taken food from local sources.

To conclude, one can get any kind of food he desires from any corner but must be aware of the consequences also.This essay discussed why home grown food is not only healthy but also sustainable way for the mother earth.