You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays people live in the era of consumption when marketing is one of the main field in tradе. Advertising has both the positive side which announces customers new useful products and the negative side which inclines us to overconsumption. I agree that the modern tendency is to force a person to buy extra goods. It can be proved by runaway growth in consumption and global inequality in private consumption between rich and poor countries.

Firstly, recent researches show that consumption expenditure is growing. We get used to that our income is growing, so we can increase our costs. For example, there is the annual indexation of wages in Russia. Accordingly, every single company wants to get these spare money and tries to attract attention of potential buyers through advertising. Thus, this makes it clear that increasing consumption is the goal not only for companies, but also for governments, because of its influence on economy.

Secondly, global inequality in private consumption has a high level, despite it tends to narrow the gap. It is illustrated by the statistic from a lot of scientific reports. For instance, the United States of America is one of the largest markets for goods and services. On the other hand, all countries in Africa combined do not consume the same amount of things like USA. According to this, advertising is mainly oriented on solvent consumers and does not help to solve that problem.

In summary, marketing aims are not only to inform about goods and services, but also to stimulate consumer demand even when buyers do not have a real needs. Thus, the main idea of advertising is to have an ongoing financial flow for companies. That situation will likely remain the same without any changes into the foreseeable future.