You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want.

To what extent should children have to follow rules?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Few countries follow strict rules of behaviour for children, while in some countries children have complete freedom similar to those of adults. Although, freedom is important for any child to learn from their own experiences, too much freedom can make children go out of control. In this essay, we will discuss both these aspects and prove it is important for enforcing few rules on children to help shape their future in a better way.

In some countries, children have all the rights to do anything they want. They can attain driving license at a particular age easily as acquiring a driving license in that country is not difficult and no separate strict rules apply for children. This increases the chances of accidents on streets. Children are allowed to travel alone by metros and trains. Although, this helps to create a level of confidence in them, it is extremely dangerous given the increasing crowd at both metro and railway stations. Even at schools, they are free to participate in any event or competition they want without the permission of their parents. This way parents are completely unaware of the activities their child is part of.

Countries should enforce strict rules for children at few places. For instance, children should follow strict and stringent rules for obtaining a driving license. This will help reduce rash driving and accidents. Even the trains and metros should have an age limit until which a child should be accompanied by an adult. Few other restrictions should be applied by schools. As an example, few of the events and competitions in schools should need a parent's conformation, without which the child should not be allowed to take part. This will help parents to keep a check on children and their activities at school and hence protect them when required. Along with this, it is also important that children have a sense of responsibility. Hence, they should be given some level of freedom, like allowing then to take local transport like city bus while travelling to school. Allowing them to take few minor decisions in school will help them build the confidence and tolerance in cases where the decision turns out to be wrong.

To conclude, children should be enforced to follow some rules very strictly, while they can still be given some independence at few places. This will help parents to shape their children’s character in a mannered way while teaching them to be independent at the same time.