Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation. Why is this the case? What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

Today, young adults around the world have bigger voices and more influence compared to in the past. The main reason behind this is because the young now possess more money and this development is creating a distance between old and young generations.

The principal reason why young people in modern society have more power than previous young generations is because most of them now have a huge possession of money. As jobs these days give remarkably higher incomes compared to in the past, more young adults now have bigger assets of money and higher social status. As a result, their opinions become more recognized and can easily influence the crowd. For example, many young employees of Facebook and Microsoft, who make over 150 thousand dollars a year, can make any random comments on online social networks and most people will just agree and follow the ideas of these individuals.

However, having more influence also means that young people are destroying relationships with older generations. In other words, when the young have more control in society, old people would feel more useless and they would choose to keep distance as they are aware that their opinions will not be highly rated. This leads to less communication and interaction between the two generations. For instance, a survey showed that most successful young businessmen in Ho Chi Minh City who have high values to the Vietnamese government rarely have conversations with their parents at home.