1

There are many ways to learn a language.Some people prefer to learn a language in classes in their own countries.Other people prefer to learn by living in the country of the targeted language.Which do you prefer and why?

Nowadays people choose to learn a language in more convenient ways.While some people choose to learn a dialect by attending classes in their own region, personally, I believe the most effective way to study a language is by living in the country of the aboriginal language.My decisions is based on the following reasons, which I will explore in my body paragraphs.

To begin with,mastering a language by relocating to the country of the targeted language prevents us from being lonely and isolated.To explain broadly, we tend to form deeper connections with the native speakers and as a result, we are unlikely to experience sadness or depression.Besides,we are likely to increase our circle of friends.Whereas, if one decides to stay in one’s region to study, one might experience sadness because learning the language will be limited to classroom and since the people around us are the usual people we see everyday, therefore it is unlikely for someone to make new friends.For instance, my sister moved to Germany right after her bachelor's degree in order to study deutch.As soon as she arrives ,she started meeting people and she was able to learn deutsch effectively within six months.On leaving Germany back to Nigeria, she had already made plenty of friends and she still communicate with them.However, if she had stayed in Nigeria, obviously that wouldn’t have been possible.

On top of that, studying a language in the targeted region facilitates complete immersion.To be more specific, we tend to build muscle memory by watching a series in the targeted language, reading their newspapers etc.In fact, one might go as far as learning vocabularies and phrases related to the dialect.In contrast, classroom learning in one’s region only teaches the basics and as a result, it doesn’t create room for outdoor learning such as watching television, reading newspapers and magazines.Coming from my sister’s example, her ability to learn deutsch within the period of six months was not only interacting with friends but also reading articles and watching series in the targeted language.

To sum it up, learning a language where we have to inhibit the region of the targeted language is better because it makes us increase our social networks and also makes us have an overarching understanding of the dialect.