In 20 years there will be less pollution in the air than there is today.

Many people are hopeful that there will be less air pollution in 20 years than there is today. I agree with that opinion for two reasons. After many decades of development, renewable energy has become affordable and, in my own lifetime, I have seen a reduction in air pollution.

First, alternative energy production has finally become affordable after many years of refining the technology. When solar panels were first developed, it was obvious that they were a better source of energy than fossil fuels. Sunlight is free and using it to create electricity generates far less pollution than burning fossil fuels. Unfortunately, solar panels were very expensive to produce, and they weren't very efficient. Today, solar panels are inexpensive, durable, and generate much more energy than ever before. As more people, companies, and cities switch over to solar energy and other renewable energy sources, the amount of air pollution from fossil fuels will decrease.

Second, I am confident that air pollution will be reduced because I have already seen it happen in my hometown. When I was young, the city had very bad air pollution. The city is in a valley, and during the winter there was often a brown cloud of pollution hanging over it. On days like that, the news would give air pollution warnings and call it a red day. The city government and companies worked together to reduce the amount of air pollution, and they have been very successful. Over the last few years, there have been very few red days even though the population of the city continues to grow.

In conclusion, I believe that there will be much less air pollution 20 years from now. I think this is likely because solar energy and other renewable resources have become inexpensive, and I have seen that air pollution can be reduced if people work together.