33. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Performing projects is an inseparable part of students’ study in high schools and universities. Teachers assign projects for students so that they can be more engaged in their study. A question can be raised in this regard that what is the most efficient way for students to do their project. A reoccurring standpoint states that working in a group lead students to gain a better understanding of the topic, while others hold the opinion that by doing projects alone, students can learn more effectively. I subscribe to the former opinion, and in the ensuing paragraphs, I will delve into two main reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first reason corroborating my idea is that students can learn how they can work in a group. When students participate in a group, they can enhance their social skills, and learn how they can deal with different views. It is vital for students to improve their ability to work in a group because most of the occupations contributed to teamwork in various ways. For example, when I was a high school student, we had a project related to history, and it was my first project in high school. In the beginning, we did not have any idea about the teamwork, so everyone worked individually on all aspects of the project. As a result, we had a plethora of materials which was very different from each other, and we could not decide which part of the material should be included in the assignment. Therefore, we had a little conflict with each other, but in the end, after getting some useful advice from our teacher, we improved significantly in the best way for working in a group. We divided the project into several sup-projects; thus, every one could do their best in one part of the project. This example clearly illustrates that if students work in a group in high school, they will understand how they can work as a member of a team for representing a better outcome.

The second reason is that by working together, students can be familiar with a myriad of ideas. It is clear that the more members are in a group, the more ideas and opinions will be represented because every individual has his or her own way of thinking of a given subject. Consequently, by knowing several angles of a particular issue, students can have a better understanding of that topic. My opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own experiment. When I was a university student, I had an English assignment. The teacher recommended students to work in three or four members group. However, I insisted on working alone because I thought that it is a better way to get a good mark. I spent a great deal of time to finish the project, but not only my grade was not good, but also I could not learn efficiently about the topic. On the contrary, my classmate got a good grade; also, on of my friends told me that working a group is very useful because she found out a lot more from other students ideas about the project. This example clearly illustrates that had I worked in a group, I would have learned much more about my English assignment, and it shows the importance of group work for doing projects.

In conclusion, considering both the reasons mentioned above, I strongly agree that student should work together for their assignment in school. Because they can learn how to work in a group, which is very necessary for their future’s job. In addition, one can obtain more knowledge about a particular subject since a group is consist of different students with different views and ideas.