Advances in transportation and communication like the airplane and the telephone have changed the way that nations interact with each other in a global society. Choose another technological innovation that you think is important. Give specific reasons for your choice.

Technological advancement is crucial in our society in order to improve our quality of life. Nowadays, we are able to communicate immediately with any person throughout the globe. From my point of view, one of the most important contributions in the field of technology has been the internet because of the benefits that it has generated. I feel this way for two main reasons explained in the following essay.

First and foremost, the internet has allowed instant and effective communication among individuals. Some centuries ago, information was slowly spread because it had to be delivered physically. The delivery of a letter written by a husband living in Paris to his wife in Berlin could have taken weeks, but now any message like this can be read in the exact moment it is sent. For example, via the Facebook application, I can, from Chile, call my friend who lives in Germany and have a high-quality conversation.

Additionally, the Internet allows us to be informed of what is happening in the precise second of the action. Although this improvement can be attributed to the television some decades before the internet, it is indisputable that the World Wide Web offers even more resources to use to keep informed. To illustrate this, on the platform of Twitter, I can read what is happening in several parts of the world at the same time. I can see that James Cameron just won an award at the Oscars and that a Chilean politician was found guilty of a felony.

Finally, the cyberspace provides plentiful information on any subject. There are millions of websites that could be equivalent to millions of books that are easily accessible. In the past, the main source to complete assignments for university students was the library. However, this idea is prehistoric, because most students search for information primarily on the internet. You can find updated research and papers with just one click.

In summary, there is no doubt why the internet is one of the most important advancements ever.