are students more influenced by teachers than by their friends?

What is the most fundamental quality that promises one’s bright future? The answer lies in the capability of adopting advice from others. As a common notion suggests, even though one’s future is in his or her own palm of hand, one can never do without help from others. Among those who reach their hands out when one gets into trouble, the most important characters are teachers and friends. Recently, a controversial statement was brought to public eye, suggesting that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. From my point of view, I cannot agree with it more.

To begin with, teachers are always in a position to influence students, due to their relatively high intelligence and experience. In most cases, with the considerably amount of experience and knowledge, teachers are more capable of giving constructive and applicable advice which paves the way for students towards their future career success. Besides, classes take up much time of students, offering students opportunities to communicate with teachers and in exchange with ideas. As a result, students can make full use of these resources provided by the school and professors. In this regard, we may refer to Madame Curie, a Polish physicist and chemist famous for her pioneering research on radioactivity. She studied very hard at school and used to communicate with professors frequently. These communications were thought provoking and made great impact in her future research. Later on, she became the first female Nobel Prize laureate and first scientist who won two Nobel Prize in the history. But for the profound impact made by the teachers in the university, never would she become so successful.

Furthermore, it is common for friends of same ages to be limited by their scope. Therefore, it is not a good idea for those who are in need to resort to their friends, because they are, in a sense, unable to give applicable and feasible solutions. In most cases, students are too stubborn to listen to people of same ages. Compared with a amateur, students tend to listen to veteran with precious experience. As a consequence, friends of same age are less likely to make much impact on others.

Admittedly, even though we have testified to the important role of teachers, it does not mean that friends cannot influence other students. After all, students live and have fun together, so they are likely to share same habits. However, in spite of sharing same hobbies, they are not likely to share same view on every event.

To sum up, the merits encompassed within advice from teachers are outweigh that from friends of same age. Concerning all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.