solving questions using our own knowledge and experience or asking other people for advice

We are living in a mysterious world filled with questions that remain to be solved. Either in our daily or during the office hours, the period of time contributed to the solution of various problems always proves meaningful. The process of probing deeper into a mystery until the result is out indeed tests our ability and steels our personalities. A strong sense of fulfillment rises up at the moment when the answer is out. How could we solve a problem most satisfactorily? From my point of view, adopting our own knowledge and experience to find the answer is much better than asking others for advice.

To begin with, it is a good way to train oneself to be independent. The symbol of one’s maturity lies in the fact that he or she could solve a problem on his own, without relying on others. Of course, it involves a good command of knowledge and firm self-confidence. Today, I still cherish the memory of my very first attempt as the independent interpreter for an important conference before leaving college. By making use of my language skills, I struggled to complete the challenging job. The process of making good efforts independently was so meaningful that experience that it definitely reassured me about my ability. Solving problems by myself also helped me gain much practical experience that would lead to the successful handling of future challenges. Equipped with an ample storage of knowledge, I stepped into my career life with much confidence.

Furthermore, using one’s own knowledge to solve a problem is a precious opportunity to conduct self-assessment. Doubtlessly, self-evaluation is a necessary premise of one’s personal progress and overall development. During the course of searching for the answer, one is grated the chance to use what has been learnt and judge if his knowledge base is solid enough to handle difficulties in real life. Discovering one’s defects is also a critical step forward. After all, how could an individual obtain his success without a thorough test of himself? Therefore, overcoming a problem totally on one’s own could be a meaningful way to receive objective feedbacks of his personal ability and quality.

Admittedly, consulting others for advice might be a short cut to solve a problem. Anyhow, two heads are better one. Through the combined efforts and mutual support, it will take shorter time to find the best solution to a question. However, in most cases, suggestion from outsiders can only act as references. Important decisions have to be made independently. Relying too much on others’ ideas possibly drag one farther away from the best answer.

In a word, fighting against difficulties with one’s own knowledge helps a person become mature and more capable. With the purpose of tackling overwhelming challenges, it is indispensable to undergo tough ordeals independently. Undeniably, the greatest value in the basic knowledge of all fields lies in a person’s ability to use without further assistance from others.