solving questions using our own knowledge and experience or asking other people for advice

The examples of the famous celebrities around the world have testified to the common notion that one’s bright future is in his or her own palm of hand. In most cases, when one encounters with challenges, there are two ways for them to choose. One is using his or her own knowledge and experience to solve questions. The other one is to ask other people for advice. In recent years, a controversial proposal was brought to public eye, suggesting that the latter way is better. This seems reasonable in some aspects. However, from my point of view, it is better to rely on oneself.

To begin with, solving problem independently is a crucial quality, with which those who dreams of a career success all should be equipped. To some extent, it is common for people, especially those who are doing innovative work, to be faced with undesirable problems. In most cases, these problems are too hard to solve, thus amateurs are unlikely to offer constructive advice. As a consequence, one has to rely on himself or herself. Here is a concrete example to justify it. Thomas Edison, the greatest inventor the world has ever seen, taught us that solving problems independently is an essential quality. Just as he once expressed, “a genius is one percent of inspiration and ninety nine percent of perspiration.” Even though he encountered with numerous failures and conducted countless experiments, he never gave up. Finally, his efforts paid off. He succeeded in finding the most suitable material for the electric light bulb. But for his perseverance, never would he become so successful.

Furthermore, using own knowledge to solve problem is a good way to enhance one’s ability. To illustrate, as a common notion suggests, failure is the path to success. Even though one might fail to solve the problem on themselves, they would obtain precious experience from the course of solving problems independently. Undeniably, learning from the past mistakes helps avoid future challenges. When this works, progress could be made. For example, when I try to ride bike, my father told me numerous advice to help me. However, none of them worked. Later on, I tried to find the way with my own experience and knowledge. Finally, I mastered how to ride bike. Therefore, if I stop keeping trying on my own, never would I learned how to ride.

Admittedly, even though we have testified to the importance of solving problems independently, it does not mean that we should not ask other people for advice. In some cases, experts and teachers as well as parents are more skillful to deal with problems. Moreover, in addition to asking others, searching on the Internet and reading books are applicable solutions.

To sum up, the merits encompassed within solving problems independently outweigh those within asking for help. Concerning all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that it is better to use one’s own knowledge and experience to solve problems than asking other people for advice.