Choose one of the following transportation vehicles and explain why you think it has changed people's lives.

automobiles, bicycles, airplanes

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is a very popular fact that transportation has played a vital role in human evolution. It all started with a wheel and now we have a plethora of options when it comes to various transportation vehicles. To decide which one has played the most significant role in improving people's lives is debatable. But in my opinion, airplanes have had a staggering effect on human development. This is primarily due to the fact that no other mode of transport has helped with globalization as compared to air.

Airplanes have only made the world a smaller place. By this I mean, compared to the times when people traveled by water for months together to reach one country to another; we can now reach any desired location within a few hours. This has rapidly increased global ties between countries. Due to the ease of commute and reduced travel time, countries are now building better relations with each other. They have opened their homes to global investors. The import and export businesses are now booming. This is helping a lot of underdeveloped countries boost their economy. The rapid globalization is brought about primarily due to the increased connectivity.

Indeed, the globalization that is brought about by the connectivity that airplanes provide, has helped many cultures to evolve. A simple by-product of globalization is the migration of people from one country to another in pursuit of new and better career opportunities. This implies that people from different cultural backgrounds are required to blend in with each other. They are supposed to be tolerant and considerate about each other's culture and backgrounds. The natives would have to put in extra effort to make migrants feel at home. This alone gives people a different perspective that they would not have had if not for globalization. My hometown is a compelling example of this. There is an international university in my hometown that attracts students from all over the world. Given that the regional food in my country is spicier than the rest of the world, certain locals in my hometown came together to open up new restaurants to suit the tastes of these international students. This made the students feel very warm and welcomed and encouraged more global students to attend this university. A simple step towards inclusion brought about unexpected name and fame to my hometown.

Another upside to this small step was that it created new job opportunities. Students could now support their tuition fees by being a part-time chef or a waiter. Like this, there are so many success stories of how increased connectivity has led to increased job opportunities. This would not have happened to this scale if we were not connected by air.

In conclusion, airplanes have played a vital role in changing people's lives by providing avenues of better connectivity which has led to rapid globalization and increased job opportunities.