In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The average life expectancy of humans in 1800 was 29 years and now in 2019, that expectancy has gone up to 72 years; a whopping 43 years increase. While the reasons for this is highly debatable, I strongly believe that modern medicine and technological improvements are the reason for the longer lives of people.

From the ancient days when communicable diseases such as leprosy were incurable to these modern times where AIDS/HIV has become curable, medicine has come a long way. Modern medicine has improved significantly and now has a solution to almost everything. There were times when people used to die because of a simple common cold, now it is the simplest disease you could contract. Huge amounts of research and time have been put into identifying and tackling every kind of human disease. This has helped simply the methods of treatment and also find a fully curable solution for disease, with minimal side effects. My great-grandfather and I are compelling examples of this. During the 1800s, when my great-grandfather was alive, he contracted with a disease similar to chicken pox and this led to his death. This was simply due to the fact that doctors then did not identify the disease which implied that they could not treat the disease. But, when I contracted chicken pox in 2010, it was a matter of 15 days and some medical tests and regular medication to recover completely.

Indeed, my recovery also had more to do with technological improvements and easy access to facilities. The improvements in technology have helped improve the way in which medical tests are performed. Now we are able to perform several tests and scans that provide better insight into our body. Also, these tests which would have taken several days can now be performed in minutes. For example, you break your arm, your doctor performs an X-ray in minutes and identifies the broken bone. He then dresses your broken arm appropriately to tend to that particular broken bone. Or you have a fever, then the doctor runs blood tests to find the type of fever you have and provides the required treatment. These tests are performed in minutes to test several types of diseases and accurate results are retrieved. This would not have been possible in olden days, due to lack of technology. Also, improvements in transportation and the advent of the internet is a primary reason to get better healthcare. We are now able to find and reach hospitals faster due to the internet and our fast-moving automobiles.

In conclusion, I believe that people now live longer than before due to technological advancements and drastic improvements in the world of modern medicine.