A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching.It is considering two plans:

1) Choose a small group of excellent teachers;these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively,and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2) Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers,using online material that each teacher will study individually.

Nowadays, technological advances have changed the approach of teaching. Distance-learning programs have gain in popularity such as the use of videos and online material. I believe the first plan is more effective for following reasons.

First of all, teachers studying individually online offers a more practical and convenient way of improving teaching ability. These online courses are available 24 hours a day, and therefore suitable for teachers who are busy, as long as they have Internet access. On top of this, when they have problems in comprehending some key concepts from the videos, they can click the pause button and replay the video until they fully digest information.

Additionally, teachers using materials online prevents experienced teachers from hiding essential methods or missing key points. If teachers use the wrong way to lecture, students would be unable to acquire new knowledge well even be weary of studying. By comparison, in online courses, all teachers can get access to the same content of the expert’s training. They can read identical and relevant materials, such as textbooks and expert’s note, and attend video lessons, which are recorded lectures of a distinguished expert.

Granted, a group of experienced teachers can better understand the teaching method and help other teachers to master the method. This is because teachers who watch videos are impossible to communicate with the expert face to face. When they have questions, the can only send an email but not get the guidance immediately. Conversely, those excellent teachers could absolutely interact with lectures even improve methods of the expert.

In conclusion, it is better to choose the first plan in consideration of efficiency and convenience. Online courses of experts are more accessible and enable teachers to receive equitable training.