A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (ages14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually.

Although some people adamantly claim that additional training should be available for all the high school teachers, others take an opposite point of view toward this issue. Although some may remain nuetral believing that a myriad of factors should be considered to prove what idea leads to more success. Personally, I am of the opinion that training a group of superior teachers would be more effective and help more achieving the goal of improving teaching methods in the high schools. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, presence of an expert is so crucial for this plan. Interacting with a professional educator, high school teachers could ask their questions frequently and solve their comon problems easily. For example, my mother had the same situation. She was a teacher in the most famous high school in our city, tehran, for 20 years. The ministry of education in my country tried to enhance the teaching circumstances in high schools so all the superb teachers, including my mother, were selected to participate in this training where a group of professional educator were invited from Germany to explain the most effective method in the world which could be used in Tehran’s high schools. Fortunately, this project was so successful since this teachers asked all of their questions and could find a comprehensive answers for them. When all these teachers came back to their cities, they described all of their experiences for other teachers by some presentations and sessions. Luckily, after that, we had a better teching setting the high schools.

Second, congregating a group of teachers could be beneficial as well. The teachers who participate in this project could exchange their idea and discuss about their different situations in different schools. As I mentioned before, in the trainig which my other had participated, there were different teachers from all over the country. They could discuss about their difficulties in that session and learned from each other.

All in all, considering the aim of this plan which is enhancing the teaching conditions in high schools and all the aforementioned arguments, one can draw the conclusion that instructing top teachers who had an excellent performance in their class would be a better idea. Not only educating by an expert could have more effectiveness, but also these teachers could exchange their ideas and benefit from their experiences.