Describe a custom from your country that you would like people from other countries to adopt. Explain your choice, using specific reasons and examples.

Every country has their own customs that are expected to be followed by all members of society. There are many customs in my country that I wish were also followed elsewhere, one of which is children living with their parents until they are capable of earning. This may sound strange to others but is considered a norm in our culture.

In many parts of the world, as soon as children turn eighteen, they want to leave their parents and start living on their own. Of course, this helps them be independant, but it also hurts their future. They may not be able to focus on their studies and pursue the career of their dreams, instead they are forced to do odd, low-paying jobs in order to survive and if they do manage to complete their studies, they end up knee-deep in debts.

In our country, however, children remain with their parents until they can earn enough to survive on their own. This means that students can focus on their studies and career rather than having to worry about survival.This way we do not have to fret over paying for utilities, food and other necessities. If parents are able to, they may even pay their children’s tuition fees. This means we do better in universities and secure high-paying jobs earlier than most people.

Another benefit of this arrangement is the support we receive. The earliest years of adulthood are the most challenging and it is always a comfort to know that you have a family that will stick with you through thick and thin. They do not only help us financially but also morally. This does not mean that we take unfair advantage of our parents. Once we are able to live independently, it is expected that we help them in any way we can, whether it be financially or assisting them when they are ill, making sure that we respect them at all times. After all that they do for us, this is the least we can do for them

To sum up, I believe that people all around the world should remain with their parents until they are able to earn enough to live independently. This will save them from giving up their dreams as well as many years of debt. It would also help them through the transformation from childhood to adulthood, which is a vulnerable time for many.