Do you agree or disagree:

Compared to people who live in villages and farm areas, people who live in cities are more satisfied with their lives

With the advancement of infrastructure and an accelerated pace of globalization, more people choose to live in cities rather than in the countryside due to various reasons. This phenomena has arouse a heated debate whether this is a good sign indicating an enhanced quality of life. Some holds the position that urban citizens are more satisfied with their live than those who in farm areas. However, this essay argues that rural life is more comfortable for modern people considering both internal and external factors.

To begin with, internal factors, including mental and physical health, are worth highlighting in terms of the merits brought by living in the rural area. In other words, rural life is beneficial because it provides a relative slow-paced lifestyle and natural environment to live in. Firstly, urban life is much faster than that of rural area. Currently, people are experiencing a higher level of pressure from their work and life. According to the survey conducted by World Psychiatric Association, mental health issues have been one of primary causes of urban mortality. In contrast, living in farms tends to be problem-free since the burden of work and social life is much lighter and do not exhaust people mentally and physically. Secondly, the environment is more friendly more citizens to enjoy their live there. Modern cities earn notoriety because of air pollution and etc.. A vast number of cars have emitted many pollutants, such greenhouse gas (i.e. carbon dioxide) and oxides of nitrogen. These pollutants not only threats the well-being of human beings, but the survival of other species as well. Consequently, the health of urban citizens suffers. On the contrary, a pleasant ecological environment in villages and farms contributes to the satisfaction of rural citizens. Therefore, people living in rural area are more mentally and physically contented with their lives.

Furthermore, apart from internal reasons, external factors are crucial to be discussed. Some may rebut that people who live in cities can enjoy the benefits of infrastructure and technologies. But this point is not well-grounded since the globalization and high technologies have spread to every corner of the world. As a result, rural areas now, unlike in the past, have a better access to modern comforts. For example, the Internet has enable people to purchase any product they want. So the life in rural does not make a difference in terms of modern facilities and daily necessities.

To sum up, people living in remote areas are now enjoy their life more because they have less pressure, better living environment and access to advanced technologies and facilities. For this reason, people may reconsider their decision on living area as a better living quality is provided by the rural areas.