Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In modern times, grandparents cannot give their grandchildren useful advice because the world of today and the world of 50 years ago are too different.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an old proverb saying, "if the old dog barks, he gives counsel." Indeed the old people have more life experiences and knowledge than the youth do. No matter how the world has changed, listening to their advice is never a bad choice.

Though today's world is quite different from 50 years ago as the new technology developed, some general values and morality always remain universal. The grandparents, their generation has undergone severe life condition: poverty, starvation, wars. From those experiences, they learned to be diligent, hardworking, and strong. Those moralities and values are always useful in real life. And the difficulties that their grandchildren met are simply a piece of cake when comparing to theirs. For example, when the children felt frustrated with endless homework and quizzes, the grandparents would tell them that only hard work can bring a bright future and abundant life. Also, grandparents’ moral standards can be passed on to the next generation, such as thrift and honesty. Nowadays, people are becoming more self-centered and egoistic. However, fifty years ago, in the good old days, people are more friendly and warm-hearted. Learning from grandparents, children would inherit the good moralities and form a better character.

After all, grandparents live about fifty years longer than the children do. They have been through more situations and met many more people, and developed a more thorough and distinctive perspective than the youth do. When encountering difficult trouble, asking for advice from the grandparents will always be helpful. For example, consulting with grandparents with major selection in college could be extremely crucial. Major selection is a critical life choice for the youth as it determines the future development for a whole lifetime. The grandparents might have quitted the job for a long time. They still know what industry or profession has good potential. As one of the closest relatives to the children, the grandparents know their grandchildren's personalities and strengths well. They can give the most suitable suggestions.

In general, I believe the advice gained from grandparents would always help the children no matter how the world changes. Their unique experiences can give special insights to the children and pass on the good moralities to the next generation.