Do you agree or disagree with the following sentence. "there is only one definition of success-to be able to spend your life in your own way".

”There is only one definition of success- to be able to spend your life in your own way.", the author of this statement relates success directly to freedom, freedom to live your life in your own way. I agree with the statement because of the following reasons.

Some people believe that definition of success changes from person to person, for instance, some people might define success as financial freedom, and some say success is glory. However, they are all pointing towards the same idea i.e. achieving what a person long for. For example, definition of success for <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">legendary</span> Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar would be his career record, on the other hand, businessman like Robert Kiyosaki's definition of success would be pointing towards his bank account. The above two definition of success are different from one another, however they represent the same thing i.e. the will of the person defining it, or what the person wants from life.

The common notion of people is that no matter what a person is doing, if he is highly paid for it, then the person is successful. Is it true? No it's not. This is explained with the help of an Indian movie named 3 idiots. In this movie the protagonist is studying in an engineering school, his father wants him to become an engineer because of high status in society and high pay. However, he want to become a wild life photographer, he do not want higher pay, he want to live his dream of becoming a wild life photographer. In the end of the movie he confronts his father and becomes a wild life photographer. This example is the apotheosis of the definition "success is to be able to spend your life in your own way."

For epitomizing, even if the definition of success changes from person to person, its final meaning is the same for all. Therefore, the statement "there is only one definition of success- to be able to spend your life in your own way" holds true for every person. Hence it is the perfect definition of success.