Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Since the dawn of time, people showed interest in artistic activities. Some believe that all scholars should learn about arts and music in secondary school. I totally disagree with this opinion due to the fact that some students do not have artistic skills and because it is a loss of time. I will explain my statement in detail, in the following essay.

First and foremost, art and music are not for everybody. There are people who enjoy creating art, singing, composing different type of music, from classic to modern style. On the other hand, there is a category of persons who do not have talent regarding these fields, or who just prefer enjoy and admire such manifestations as spectators. Furthermore, pupils who are forced to learn about fields they can not be proficient in, might feel ashamed, insecure and unsuccessful, leading to a low self-esteem. My experience is a compelling example. As a student, I was made to study music and painting, both in secondary school and high school, although I had no talent at all. I hated painting, I founded it boring and I can not sing. When I was twelve my music teacher asked me to sing something in order to grade me, and I had no choice than to do it. As expected, my performance was horrible and I felt pretty uncomfortable. Moreover, my teacher evaluated my execution as being extremely bad, comparing me with a goat. This experienced marked me, and from that moment I refused to sing once again. Thus, since many children do not have such talents, art and music courses should be optional.

Second, art and music represent a loss of time for many students, who, from various reasons, are not interested in studying them. Some scholars want to enlarge their horizons by learning about things from their area of interest, they want to approach domains that can be useful for future or just for entertainment. Not to mention that if art and music are perceived as being boring, students would not absorb information or they would forget everything soon after. For instance, I painted countless of sheets, I combined numerous colors and since the overall results were not exceptional, I consider this as being, a useless loss of paper and precious time.

To summarize, scholars should be able to reject classes that are not representative for them, including art and music. This is because some are not inclined to develop such talents or do not have innate talents and because it is a completely waste of time for students who are just not interested in art and music.