Do you agree or disagree with following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Throughout the history, human beings have perpetually been exposed to several instructive experiences which have far-reaching impact on their future. In this regard, the controversial question that has always caused heated debates is whether history course should be obligatory for university students or not. Some people possess the conviction that students had better concentrate on their own field and try to be master in it rather than read unrelated subjects like history. I, nevertheless, hold an alternative notion and subscribe to the idea that history should be mandatory in university for a couple of reasons. Further discussion on this topic can be boiled down to a couple of upcoming reasons below.

The first exquisite reason which bears in mind is that it is indispensable that each country learn from their past in order to preclude erroneous decision in future. Delving into historical events not only broaden our perspective about past phenomena but also act as a light to go through future. Accordingly, each student which likely become one of the country's authorities in future, are expected to be aware of the country’s history to use those experiences. To shed light in this issue, Iran have always allocated a lot of energy and investment in educating students; that’s why it always has the most literate and elite people in the world. As a statistic research conducted in university of British Colombia demonstrated that accomplishments of Iranian scientists have undeniable and profound effect in prosperity of today's advanced world. Contemplating this result convince them to put more energy and budget toward boosting their pedagogical approaches to bring about more adept and thrived scientists.

The other worthwhile reason which vindicate my viewpoint is that countries had better know their friends and enemies. And nothing can be more efficient than learning from historical events. As a matter of fact, in order to establish international political as well as economical mutual relationships, each country shouldn't underestimate the past relation with those countries. Furthermore, they should take into account that whether that country have been committed to their promises or not. Consequently, it is more plausible to impede similar mistakes. As a convincing example, Iran has always trust its neighbors in commerce. Some of this bilateral trade was fruitful and occasionally there were some countries which did not abide by the agreement. However, Iranian governors maintain commercial relations with those countries which violate the agreements, and each time they face several predicament. Had Iran learned from its history, it would be more cautious in international relations today.

All in all, the aforementioned reasons lead us to conclusion that it is crucial for each student to know about the past events and take advantage of lucrative experience to inhibit making mistakes. So it is highly recommended that history be a compulsory course not only for university student but for high school’s students as well. Imagine country which its people don’t have any information about their history; how governor can convince them about their inclination or disinclination in their behavior and bilateral relations with other countries?