Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's fast-paced and money-oriented world, students can play a significant role in the development of a country. With this in mind, there is a controversy whether students should study only courses related to their field of study or otherwise. I, personally, do believe that studying irrelevant course can bring about some issues, two of which are of great importance, elaborated below.

To begin with, students have a limited time as far as studying courses is concerned. In fact, they have to study quite a few course in order to make a deep knowledge in their major. For example, an electrical engineer needs to spend many hours for each of their expertise courses such as Signal and system, Electronic Circuits, and Electromagnetism. So far-reaching is these courses that without spending enough time to study, he or she will not be able to understand them well. If such students have to take other courses which are not useful for them, they will not be able to study enough for their important and rudimentary courses. As a result, their academic performance will be affected dramatically.

Equally important is the matter of cost for both students and university. Needless to say, a university should pay professors for every course and similarly, students have to pay tuition fee. Although studying different kinds of subjects can help students to open their mind, such courses just give a "shallow knowledge" to students. Consequently, it cannot be practical for them to use this skin-deep knowledge. Therefore, is it rational to take their "Golden-time," energy, and money on one side, and use the facilities and budget of the university on another side for nothing but an irrelevant course?

In the light of these crucial reasons, I am of the opinion that taking courses which are not related to their field of study has some negative effects. Such course not only can be waste of time and money for students but also waste the budget of the university.