Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvement for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

Thanks to the scientific and technological advancements, man’s life situation has improved remarkably. After the tremendous recent improvements in welfare, some may say that there is no room for any further growth in the quality of life. I disagree. I believe that we should expect, and will see, extensive improvements in our living standards due to technological and scientific developments for the reasons that I am going to discuss.

First of all, human societies are suffering severe problems in different areas, specifically medicine issues, in which science is going forward to find their solutions to elaborate on our living standards ultimately. Although many deadly diseases are curable now, there is still a considerable number of malfunctions which needs great endeavor of scientists and researchers. Disabilities, genetic disorders, heart diseases, and the rest made some people deprived of a comfortable life. For example, although some HIV patients have been treated, there is still no absolute cure for that. Due to their physical weakness, patients are struggling with even ordinary daily tasks. Regarding the recent results of scientific and technological advancements, there is a bright future for curing this severe illness or at least making their life more comfortable. Furthermore, despite the significant breakthrough in chemotherapy, for treating cancer, which is one of the most deadly and prevalent diseases around the world, there is a wide range of side effects influencing patients’ experiences of life, such as hair-loss, sunlight sensitivity, losing weight, inability for doing routine jobs. So if there is any hope to have a better health condition in our life, it comes from science and technology.

Another noteworthy reason is that scientific and technological achievements may take some time to find a way to people’s life. Some new technological accomplishments are not economically viable at first to reach mass production, but after a while, they will be in service to the public. Besides that, inventing new gadgets or products to affect ordinary life is a painstaking effort that does not occur routinely. Take the radio as an example. For many years there were not any radio receivers, but scientists knew about radiation and its capabilities. After the invention of the radio, television, and other radio transmitting devices, human life has changed profoundly. Furthermore, brilliant Einstein’s theory of specific relativity did not come in handy for decades. Nobody has ever thought that such theoretical knowledge might have any slightest effect on ordinary people’s lives, but now individuals’ location is easy to find using the GPS. Thanks to that marvelous theory, GPS satellites are capable of correcting time dilation happening to their super-sensitive clocks. So although it takes time to benefit from technology and science, it definitely will.

All in all, I believe that science and technology will have living standards higher because there are so many problems which scientists are working on it and they will find solutions, as they did until now. Moreover, it must be considered that great leaps in human quality of life have never been that common in human history; they need time to be beneficial for the public.