Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the best ways to gain precious experiences is to travel. Having the opportunity to see the unknown places for an individual is of great importance. Some people believe that a tour guide should accompany you; On the other hand, I firmly believe that one should travel alone. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on this by the focus of freedom and time management in individual travel.

In the first place, I should mention a famous Persian proverb, which states “the journey is the best way to gain wisdom.” I agree that travel should have surprises for everybody; we travel to experience new things and come up with new challenges that ordinary life would not offer. When you have tour guide all the new experiences will be eliminated because the guide has seen the location many times, so he would tell you what to do, and where to go; In this case, you could not experience the novelty of the journey. However, when you travel alone, you are free to choose the next destination or have the freedom to wake up earlier or later.

Moreover, travelling alone has some novelty in terms of finding new places alone. Besides different cultures that you come across in the international journeys, you can meet new life stiles and a different way of thinking. For example, I decided to go to Uzbekistan to see the architectural monuments of the Samarkand three years ago. I have studied architecture; thus, I did not need to have a tour guide to explain to me. Plus, I went to the Bokhara without a tour guide, although it was a little bit confusing to find the way because it has not sufficient guide board. Finally, after 10 hours of travel and asking locals, I find my destination.

To sum up, my friends told me, Hassan you would better have a tour guide, on the contrary, the new experience of meeting local people, and asking from them was a golden opportunity for me to become familiar with their culture and their way of life. This understanding was not possible with having a tour guide, who knows everything about the new city. Based on my knowledge, I would recommend everybody to have some personal journies, without a tour guide, to broaden one's horizon.