Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“It is time that we all see gender as a spectrum instead of two sets of opposing ideals,” Emma Watson, a noted British actor, once said. People may not link it with forcing females and males to go to separate schools. Still, if you look deeper, you will find that attending single-sex schools barely has any connotation , no matter how people glorify it.

Everyone must understand or at least hear about the past unequal treatment between women and men. Men would learn to become workers, merchants, or other professionals jobs when they grew up. On the other hand, women were made to take care of the family other than work, not allowed to pursue their own careers. How is it different from forbidding boys and girls to attend separate schools? However, women nowadays have equal rights with men, so boys and girls deserve to participate in coeducational schools. Everyone must have the same access to knowledge and experience. Many females have spoken up to help subside the inequality between boys and girls. Malala Yousafzai began blogging about life under the Taliban, speaking out directly against their threats to close girls’ schools.

Although the number of single-sex school schools is decreasing, there are still some because of tradition. But haven’t people seen that attending coed school benefits females and males? When boys and girls study together, they learn how to communicate with each other and how to work in a team. Learning to communicate is vital because they know how to cooperate, which is opposite to sex, and can prepare for life after school. In addition, it promotes an atmosphere of competition between boys and girls in studies, builds passion for work, and encourages them to show their skills in learning.

Yet, opponents may refute that research back up that teachers tend to pay more attention and interact more with boys than girls. As a result, Boys boys and girls should go to separate schools, so boys will not affect girls’ studies and grades. Thus, according to recent research, female students are less confident and are likely to be shy around male students in some subjects like Math, science, technology, etc. Therefore, they should not attend the same school . However, if they are in the same school, they may help each other.

Clearly, boys and girls should attend coeducational schools because of mutual benefits. Let us eliminate single-sex schools; then, fewer educational problems will exist. People should not believe that boys and girls are different.