Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should support scientific research that does not have any practical use in the short term

This is a fact that there is a time lag between all the occurrences in this world, especially when there is a cause and effect relationship between them. Although it’s not profitable for governments to give funds on these long term projects, governments should devise a long term plan to aim the goals, however it doesn’t bear immediate results.

To begin with, Many scientific discoveries had a long time difference from the beginning of the study to the time of its application. These type of projects deem to be so ambitious and so optimistic. Therefore many scientists prefer to start working on projects which are likely to reach the end quickly. Throughout the history, the most impressive and great innovations and achievements of human were fruits of notions that were somehow irrational and impossible at the time of their presentation. For instance, invention of mobile phones, the necessity for today’s life, which is an ordinary and cheap electronic device, is consequence of tremendous researches of scientist in many diverse fields. The toehold company which started to produce cellphones was firstly a producer of pagers. these devices were forerunner of modern phones which were didn’t have even a tenth of the modern phone’s abilities. However the US government thought it’s like a waste of money on the plans to develop the pagers to evolve into modern cellphones. After fifteen years, the fundamental basis for producing of a modern cell phone which for the first time gave the user calling ability. Government’s rule in this issue is appreciable, if the company didn’t enjoy the persistent financial support of the government, we still would use pagers to communicate.

Secondly, huge projects which yield to prominent turning points in human life take too much time to give outputs. With the given fact that our planet will be destroyed completely in a far future, one of the most topical issues which is the controversial debate among physicists and astronauts is travel to the other planets in order to save human life from devastation. Although the investigations in this area wouldn’t have any results within at least hundred years from now, it’s the only probable way to keep humankind from extinction. This is not a short term beneficial work anymore, actually it’s something done for its moral aspects. Thereby, governments should provide this kind of researches with the prerequisite resources. This is a fact that perfect results entail considerable effort and support.

To put in a nutshell, however time consuming researches don’t bear timely results, they usually have totally changed the human life. Consequently, governments should allocate relatively sufficient amounts of money to be spent on such projects.