Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of increasing of automation. Personally I disagree that people would lose their jobs if automation is increased in various fields. I feel this for two reasons which I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with increasing in automation tools allows us to make processes more efficient and easier. While it is true that this would replace the jobs of manual or daily labourers would do these menial jobs it would also create many more opportunities in way we have never seen before. I have to admit that my opinion has been profoundly influenced by my ow personal experience. When I was little my parents did not have a mobile phone for a long time. This meant that they had to make calls through trunk calls or pay phone which were manually connected and dialled by people. When mobile phones were introduced these people lost their jobs. However, we must not fail to consider that with the introduction of mobile phones many people were hired for constructing mobile towers, many new telecom companies were established and manufacturing of mobile parts also lead to increasing labour forces. For this reason, if mobile phones were not introduced we might have saved a few jobs but would have not been able to establish a new sector and make more jobs.

Secondly, introducing technology in various sectors has often lead to great advancements and discoveries. These discoveries has paved new ways for people to work in and not scathed their employment. In short, automating mundane and banal tasks does not pose a job security threat but in fact encourages society to learn new things to make life better. For example, most people are often insecure about the fact that artificial intelligence in drones and robots as they would pose a threat to humanity and would make most people unemployed. These people are oblivious to the advantages of learning these technologies and are fixed on the fact that they would replace human jobs. These advancements were only possible because the we started using machines to do simple tasks and focused our bright minds to address the more important issues and to enhance the comforts of our lives. This indeed increased the opportunities in research and also in maintaining these products as per our choices. It's certainly clear to see why increasing automation would not be a bane to advancement or employment.

In the light of the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that introducing technology does not reduce job opportunities but in fact creates many more. This is because of it makes processes easier and less frustating and also supports technological advancements without affecting the employment of people.