Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better for government to spend money on building modern housing than on preserving historic or traditional buildings and homes

Buildings are the indispensable part of our city. The architecture of building shows whether the city is modern or historic. A quick reflection on typical day reveals that buildings has always been one of the prominent topic in contemporary discussions. People are always intrigued to analyze whether government should spend money on building modern houses than on preserving the old ones. I certainly believe that constructing new houses will bring different kind of charm in the city. In what follows I will elaborate my perception.

At the outset there are myriad of reasons, why disbursal of money by government in building modern houses is beneficial. One of the most important reason is it will provide employment opportunity for people. We all know that, for building new houses it’ll require brobdingnagian amount of labor. In a way, it will indirectly help people for fulfilling basic needs for their life. So, spending money on constructing modern houses will help in the overall betterment of society.

Likewise, in order to make new houses it requires lot of new materials which will also help in the increment of import export business. It will also help to create good bond with the other countries of world. For instance, in our country there is no high quality of cement so government should import that from India and since India needs tea, and one of the best kind of tea grows in Nepal, import and exports grows dramatically.

On contrary, historic and traditional buildings are the pivotal reason for the development of tourism industry. Many tourists from different part of world visit in the particular country in order to cherish and enjoy the beauty of historical monuments. While this is one of the important case, we can’t be blind towards the fact that renovation of such monuments requires huge amount. Hence, disbursal of money by government in building new houses has more significance.

Based on the argument above, I believe that though preserving the historic houses should be considered as well, however building modern houses not only enhance beauty of the city but provide employment opportunities for people.