Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for government to spend money on building modern housing than on preserving historic or traditional buildings and homes.

Buildings are indispensable part of every city. The form of buildings put the city name in the list of modern or historic city. On the one hand, there are city where historical building are being superseded by modern buildings and on the other hand there are city which government prefer to preserve the historic buildings. Both views have their own reasons but I believe the former carry further weight on the account of following primary reasons.

Employment will increase in the city which are changing into a modern city. As everyone knows, building a modern house needs several groups of people to work continuously. In fact, several employments will be created due to such building. As a matter a fact, Architecture should control and evaluate the process of building, water plumper should connect every house to water supply, carpenter should produce doors and windows, decorator should select an appropriate design proportional to costumer favorites and also several worker should work with above groups in order to build a modern house. Therefore, the government will indirectly decrease the rate of unemployment by transition from a historic city to a modern city.

Imports and exports will increase by building modern houses. As everyone knows, building modern houses need modern materials, which give the architecture and other groups involved in building a house the wide spectrum of choices to obtain the best results. On the one hand, some material may not be produced inside and we should import them from foreign countries, on the other hand, every country has particular material which may not be found in other country, therefore, government may export its material instead of importing the material they need for building. For instance, in our country there isn’t a high-quality cement and government should import that from India and since India needs rice and one of the best kind of rice grows in Iran, therefore, the rate of imports and exports will increase dramatically.

Modern buildings mean less destruction and victims during natural disasters. Old building are very weak during earth quake, flood, tornado and other natural disaster and will be destroyed easily. Therefore, government by building modern houses with high-quality material and with new technology can ameliorate the efficiency of buildings. For instance, last year an earth quake quaked one of province in Iran whereby all the old houses were destroyed but new buildings which have been made utilizing high-quality material under control of architecture kept intact. Also, tornado ruined one of city in the North of Iran completely since buildings have virtually been made of wood and they couldn’t resist against such powerful wind.

Modern cities attract more tourists and immigrants due to their facilities and services. Numerous residents will dwell in such modern building and they will need big shops around the city to satisfy the demands of residents. Residents also need to be entertained, therefore, places such as cinema, casino, pool, restaurants and so on should be opened indeed. Therefore, the city unexpectedly grow and change into a touristic city in near future. As a result, more tourist will come to visit the city every year. For instance, Dubai was a small city but building tremendous skyscrapers made it a big city with more touristic attractors and now is one of the famous city in Middle West from economical and touristic point of view.

Taken together, everyone knows every coin has two side, although building modern houses will enlarge a city, create employment, preserve resident against natural disaster and make it more touristic but preserving historic buildings also have their own benefits and it deserves to be considered.