Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

Friends, who have great places in our lives, are important people for many reasons. They are the people where we consult with the mind when it comes or easily drool but more importantly we share our secrets with some of them. More, there have been times that we see them more than our families. Thus, choosing a friend has a great importance. There are two controversial notions about choosing a friend. Some people choose their friends based on whether they have a good sense of humor, but in my opinion intelligence is the main criterion for choosing friends and I explain the reasons of my opinion in this essay.

Personally, I believe, friends must have a similar culture and education level so they can get along well in any case. Of course, there are exceptions in our lives however, these exceptions are very rare. The reasons behind these thoughts are based on our childhood, education and career stages of us. First of all, we start to make friends since kinder garden and it continues with our education life. Also, our character and personality have been forming through these years. Furthermore, our expectations and the things we like to share with a friend changes in time. Being friends with an intelligent person has advantages and having the same sense of humor is only one of them.

Intelligent people has the ability of solving problems, creating new things in many subjects, giving advice and so on. Because of these reasons they give us the feeling of trust. I would not doubt to share a secret or resign anything to them. Trustable people are so rare to find and that is why this property makes them more special. Besides, by the advices we provide from them, we can point our lives in a better way. Also, I assume that clever people does not need to lie so in my view they are a sample of honesty. In other words, I would not hesitate to ask their real opinion/notion about anything.

In the case of sense of humor, I think intelligent people makes smarter and funnier jokes, in addition their jokes can be the one that makes you think. If someone is friends with a person just for his/her sense of humor, I believe that friendship will not last forever. Worse, that person might feel lonely. Because only funniness is not enough for a real friendship.

As a summary, my personal preference is to be friends with a smart person because I think they are the whole package.