Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have lots of different friends than it is to have just a few friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are a boon offered to human beings by the God. They are always there to help you regardless of the situation or dilemma you are facing. They help you, support you, enjoy with you and never let you feel isolated. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement and argue that it is better to have lots of different friends for two reasons.

To begin with, having a lot of friends with diverse professions is truly beneficial. Individuals with such friends are blessed because they are available for you during your tough times. Even if, they have a prodigious task to be accomplished before them, you will always be their priority. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About five years ago, I was at my home with my wife watching television, when she suddenly fainted . It was two o’clock in the morning and as a result, I was extremely worried and did not know what to do. I immediately called my friend who was a doctor and had a clinic around 5 miles away. He picked up the call and told me to bring her to the hospital urgently. Consequently, I drove her to the hospital and she was taken to the ICU in no time. Six hours later, she was back in her senses and I thanked my friend for saving her life. She had an acute heart attack and had I delayed even 5 minutes, it would have been difficult to save her. Therefore, it is always better to have a lot of friends, because you never know, who would be of immense help sometime.

Secondly, one can celebrate a variety of festivals, events with your friends. This increases the interaction and bonding with your friends and you never have a feeling of loneliness. For instance, when I was in my high school, I used to live in the hostel and had a lot of friends with whom I celebrated various festivals like Makar Sankranti, Guru Purnima etc. Each of us would prepare delicious foods on weekends and this was a our way to get a taste of specialities of a region. The Marathi friend used to make ‘Pav Bhaji’, and the other being a Bengali used to cook fish and meat. For this reason, we appreciated each other’s efforts and enjoyed staying together. This example demonstrates that having a lot of friends is a blessing and if leveraged to a great extent would thrive the friendship.

In conclusion, I believe that having a lot of friends is essential for many reasons. This is because they help us in our difficult times and also because one can enjoy a variety of foods and enhance their knowledge about different cultures.