Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, devices such as television and computers have been invented that allows us to get access to events occurring outside of our country. While some might say that it is unimportant to be acknowledged in events that are irrelevant to our lives, I believe that it is essential to know what the world is going through. The reasons to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, it is irrational to gaurantee that an event that occurred in another country would not happen in our country. Most countries go through a similar path of developing and as the famous idiom says, history repeats itself. I would like to mention South Korea and Japan as an example. As time passed in Japan, large number of baby boomers, which takes up a majority of the Japan's population, went through retirement and was responsible for the high unemployment rate. They went through an economic crisis due to half of the population being idle. It took Japan multiple years to resolve this problem, and they eventually generated policies that enabled seniors to continue working and participating in the economic cycle. Similarly, South Korea is going through the same process and is at the verge of losing most of the baby boomers through retirement. However, because South Koreans kept well acknowledged with all the events that were happening in Japan, the government created policies prior to the actual occurrence. Thanks to this, many retired baby boomers are able to get themselves employed and this prevented South Korea from facing economic crisis.

Furthermore, societies nowadays are complex and are entangled with each other, which indicates that an event that seemed irrelevant to our country may affect us in an unprecedented way. Unlike in the past, where countries mostly did not need other countries to survive, countries today possess an intricate relationship with multiple countries and such balance is required in order to inhibit the world from deteriorating. Especially, in environmental factors, it is important for all countries to participate in preventing the ecosystem because one certain event in an irrelevant country may affect people's lives in all around the world. If one country accidentally sinks a ship, the oil that was contained in the ship would leak, causing water contamination and majority of the marine animals to detriorate. This would of course affect other countries in the sense of water usage and fish consumption. As such, it is mandatory to know what is happening in other countries, in order to maintain an intricate balance between the countries for the world to maintain a habitable place.

To sum up, a certain event that happened in a country that seemed irrelevant may happen to our country and the world nowadays is maintained through balanced relationships between the countries. Due to such reasons, it is crucial to be acknowledged in the events that are happening around the world, even though it may not affect our daily life.