The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore claims that he/she should apply the same alterations that were made in a store in Marston, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions, which needs to be eliminated in order for the author of the memorandum to uphold his/her claim with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author assumes that the consequences of applying the same alteration as in the store in Marston would be the same in other nine Movies Galore stores. However, I should point out that data collected only from one store is not enough to be generalized to all ten stores. The types of customers who visit often could be different. For example, maybe majority of the customers who visit the store in Marston are teenagers and usually come right after the school ends, which would be before 6:00p.m. However, the usual customers in other nine stores are office workers and only has time to visit after their work time, which would be after 6:00p.m. The author would have to investigate more thoroughly on the types of usual customers among the stores before applying the same alteration as in Marston.

Furthermore, the owner assumes that people do not rent movies that are outdated and eliminating such movies would be a germane ramification. However, many movie lovers actually favor movies that are antiquated and such movies has the possibility that they are not available in any sort of medium. Maybe the only way for people who prefer watching old movies was by renting them from a movie-rental store. If this the case, then eradicating movies that were released for more than five years from the stock would be a wrong decision.

Last but not least, many people prefer watching movies online in platforms such as Netflix and Watcha nowadays. It could be much more expedite for people to watch movies on their electronic devices rather than having to walk all the way to the store, and this could be the cause of the decline in the profits. If so, then expanding the business online would be a much more apropos alteration, instead of reducing the operation time and eliminating outmoded movies.

To sum up, even though the owner of Movies Galore's claim seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memorandum from various points of view, it is confirmed that his/her claim is unwarranted. In order for the author to maintain his/her claim with clear warrant, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of making haste assumptions, premature generalization, and lack of thorough investigation.