Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

No books should ever be banned.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Books are essential in broadening people's perspectives. Books help them to constantly challenge and improve their ideas and also provide additional knowledge. However, there may be some books that could cause detrimental effects on the society and I believe that such books should be banned. The reason to why I believe in such way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, books that ignite the worst desire of people should be banned. There are several books that trigger the depression among people and because of its popularity, the effect could be nationwide. I would like to mention a book called 1984 as an example. This book was first categorized as science fiction and depicted a character who was living in the future in a dull society where all citizens were inhibited from pursuing their own freedom. The character tried hard to escape from such society but constantly faced failure, and he eventually took his own life due to being overpowered by severe depression. While the overall atmosphere of the book was very blue and depressing, it became a best seller in the United States. The timing of its increase in popularity coincided with the Industrialization era, causing a trigger to many of those who had depression. Majority of the readers started taking their own lives and left no choice for the government but to ban the book. For books such as the 1984, which can have a lethal effect on the society should be banned for the overall welfare of people.

Furthermore, due to technological advancement, children can easily access to books that can have a negative impact on their characteristics. Books that provide wrong ideas such as it is okay to sexually harrass others or people should behave in a certain way should be banned because the ideas presented in such books can affect children who are still in the process of developing their own personality and perspective. As an example, because children are susceptible, those who are exposed to books that assert that it is wrong to be homosexual may constantly inhibit themselves from loving the same sex. As they grow older, their belief and desire would conflict with each other, leading to psychological damage. If the government do not ban books that consist of wrong ideas, then children who access to such books via Internet with mobile devices or computers would have a permanent impact on their characteristic and their perspective.

To sum up, while most books are beneficial in improving and broadening one's perspective, there are some books that should be banned from society. Books that ignite people's worst desires or books that can present wrong ideas to children in developing their perspective should not be accessible.